Who’s there? Fashion

101 Knock-knock Jokes to Tell Your Friends. I remember checking out this book from the library at my elementary school. Eager to flip through and learn jokes to impress my friends. A common format, 101 Things… a fun way to gather information in 101 little digestible points. Naturally, when my teachers suggested that I read 101 Things I Learned in Fashion School (Alfred Cabrera with Matthew Frederick), it caught my attention. I grabbed the book before it even became an assignment (which admittedly made it less fun), and I started to read and snap pictures.

Here are a few pages that really stood out to me as useful for my project:

IMG_4337

I love this hypothesis! I’m not sure if you’ve heard comments about judging a person by their shoes. The dirt stuck to them, the holes that imply age, hard work. Perhaps the opposite, clean white expensive shoes that have failed to embrace nature. This page was a new look at an old thing. This is what I want my project to convey, a new perspective of an old thing. I want to capture the care and strength in old styles and pull showcase them in new items. In addition to that, the perception choice regarding hair and hats is one that I will now deliberately make.

 

IMG_4360

I only stared my journey of illustrating fashion figures this month. Using my limited knowledge, I’ve been hesitant to design the collection I’m working on here in Propel, so I was thirsty for tips. This page calmed me as it mostly says things that you shouldn’t over-do. Doing less work is more. I will continue to develop my ability to sketch proportions but I won’t waste my limited time playing with light, shadows or other components that will ultimately be insignificant. My new knowledge should allow me to go through more iterations of feedback and re-crafting resulting in a better final product.

IMG_4353

This page, outlining the specific measurement requirements within the fashion industry, comments on the specific nature itself. This page is the most applicable to my project, as one of my main goals is to challenge the norms of the fashion industry specifically regarding “standard” body types. The classic “know the rules before you break the rules” is incredibly relevant and this page is one of the sources that I will record that taught me the rules as they are today.

101 things has always been a helpful way for me to take in information. In case you didn’t find meaning in any of my fashion connections, here’s one everyone can take into life and use.

 

Knock Knock

Who’s there?

Moo

Moo, who?

Are you an owl or a cow? Make up your mind!

 

Leave a comment